Divorcing your spouse whom you committed of lifetime togetherness can be really stressful, nerve-wracking and emotional shattering.
Despite all, the fact remains that among all states of USA, divorce rate is relatively much higher in Utah compared to other states where incidences of divorce are showing declining trend.
Provisions under Utah divorce law
Unlike other states that permit only No Fault divorce cases, Utah allows both No-Fault and Fault-based divorce.
In Utah, No-Fault divorces are only possible when there are irreconcilable differences and both parties agree to that.
However, Fault-based divorces can be granted on eight recognized grounds that include:
- Inability to perform sexually from beginning of marriage
- Willful neglect
- Willful desertion of minimum one year or more
- Habitual drunkenness or intoxication
- Extreme cruelty
- Felony conviction
- Incurable insanity
You can go here to know more about ground for divorce in Utah:
Points to remember while seeking divorce in Utah
The Utah legislation has made it mandatory for couples to complete divorce orientation course, especially if minor children are involved. In order to file for divorce in Utah, it is also mandatory to fulfill residency norms.
At least one of the spouses must have lived in Utah State for a minimum period of three months prior to filing divorce.
However, if couple is parents of a minor child, it is imperative for you to have resided in Utah for at least 6 months prior to filing for divorce.
Utah being an equitable distribution state divides the assets reasonably to place both parties in the best and convenient possible position.
While splitting the marital assets, the income, responsibilities, pre-marital assets and other financial savings are taken into account.
In Utah, a mandatory 90-day waiting period before the divorce can be finalized.
Types of divorce
The two types of divorce in Utah are:
- Uncontested divorce
The divorce cases where both spouses agree on all of the issues pertaining to divorce and are settled quickly.Most issues of divorce with agreement on issues encompassing children custody, spousal support and disposition of assets and liabilities can be filed during uncontested divorce.
During proceedingsyou are not required to appear in court, unless you have children.Parents having children will be required to appear in court for a short hearing for settlement of children’s custody, maintenance, support and visitation.
When both spousesfail to reach an agreement on all issues of divorce, they will be required to file divorce case as to be contested and remain present in court for contesting your divorce case.
Go here to learn more about the entire divorce process in Utah:
Filing of divorce documents in court
For applying for a divorce, required divorce papers must be filed in the office of county court where you live.
Getting divorce papers in Utah is not that difficult for which you have options of filing divorce papers through an attorney which is an expensive way.
You can get necessary forms and file documents yourself in court with the help of legal firm that will guide you through all procedures at relatively less cost.
However, for getting divorce papersfor filing in court, the most economical way is to apply for divorce online.There are many approved law firms that provide services for preparing and filing online divorce documents.
Find more information about online divorce in Utah by following the link:
At a very nominal cost, you can file divorce online through law firm with convenience, accuracy and speed.